Sourav Ganguly to lead India in match against Rest of the world; Morgan to captain ROW

Eoin Morgan will be captaining the opposition in a clash featuring prominent retired cricketers. 
Ganguly and Morgan will lead the two teams.

The fixture will be played on September 15 at the Eden Gardens to celebrate India's 75th year of Independence.

An India vs Rest of the World match will be held on September 15 at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata to celebrate the 75th year of the Indian Independence. 

Former India skipper Sourav Ganguly will be captaining the Indians, with ex England leader Eoin Morgan overseeing the ROW side. 

The reigning BCCI president will be leading a star-studded Indian squad featuring his former India teammates Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh, Mohammed Kaif, Irfan Pathan, Parthiv Patel, Ajay Jadeja, and Reetinder Singh Sodhi among others. 

The Sourav Ganguly-led 17-man contingent also includes Yusuf Pathan, Stuart Binny, Naman Ojha, Ashoke Dinda, RP Singh and Pragyan Ojha in the list of retired Indian cricketers. 

Kallis, Steyn, Muralitharan part of the Morgan led ROW side 

There is no shortage of star attraction in the Morgan-led ROW team that will have Jacques Kallis, Muttiah Muralitharan, Dale Steyn - three of the greatest players to have graced the cricket field - in its starting XI. 

The 17-man squad also includes the likes of Brett Lee, Sanath Jayasuriya, Matt Prior, Jonty Rhodes, and Mitchell Johnson among others. 

This powerpacked side will clash with the Sourav Ganguly-led Indians in a T20 match played at the iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata. 

The fixture will be held to mark the 75th year of the Indian Independence from the British way back in 1947. 

A healthy crowd is expected for the game set to infuse a sense of nostalgia for the fans, who have missed watching these legends take the field since their retirement. 

Also Read - Andre Russell posts screenshot of Phil Simmons' 'beg comment', but refuses to retort to it

Ganguly, who is captaining the Indians, retired from international cricket in 2008 and last played competitive cricket at IPL 2012. He soon moved to broadcasting before entering the administrative field, taking over as BCCI president in late 2019. 

Morgan left the cricket world shocked by opting to retire from international cricket following the end of the ODI series against the Netherlands in June. 

The only England captain to lift an ODI World Cup to date, Morgan is considered a pioneer of three lions' famous aggressive ways with the bat, a transformation that kicked in after their disastrous first-round exit at the 2015 World Cup in Australia. 

The 35-year-old played 16 Tests, 248 ODIs and 115 T20Is for England, scoring over 10,000 international runs. 

India - Sourav Ganguly (c), Virender Sehwag, Mohammad Kaif, Yusuf Pathan, S Badrinath, Irfan Pathan, Parthiv Patel, Stuart Binny, S Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh, Naman Ojha, Ashoke Dinda, Pragyan Ojha, Ajay Jadeja, Rp Singh, Joginder Sharma, Reetinder Singh Sodhi

ROW - Eoin Morgan (c), Lendl Simmons, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Sanath Jayasuriya, Matt Prior, Nathan McCullum, Jonty Rhodes, Muttiah Muralitharan, Dale Steyn, Hamilton Masakadza, Mashrafe Mortaza, Asghar Afghan, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Kevin O'Brien, Dinesh Ramdin